Perhaps this is a lucky charm?

Started by mufan99, Mar 13, 2021, 16:26:04

Previous topic - Next topic

mufan99

Hi, I am new to this group and I look forward to exchanging knowledge and experience.

I have this small pendant in my collection, about 7cm long. I am reading the English translation of a Chinese fantasy novel and on the back of the pendant the red writing on a yellow background reminds me of the charms that are mentioned in the book. I have done a bit more research and the description in the book seems to be quite accurate. The pendant is hollow and inside the hole on the back there is a sponge - perhaps for perfume. Can anyone help identify this item or offer an opinion? Thanks in advance.

Stan

Just looking at the Characters, makes me think Simplified Characters, I am no expert and I can not read Chinese but this looks to me to be 2nd half or later 20th century, Peter will be able to determine if these are simplified Characters, Simplified characters were used in the Kangxi period but these look to new to me, nice pendant though.

peterp

Nothing simplified or traditional, I can only recognize only three apparently Chinese characters, these are 天, 中, 工, the rest looks like nothing of the CKJ characters I know. The rest are looking as if they could be some of the many South Asian scripts, but nothing like Thai, etc., it seems.
Notable is that the writing style of the above three Chinese characters is in a way we can see in Chinese marks, etc. that are copied in SE Asia by people who have no idea of the strokes or writing orders (calligraphy), which every Chinese learns in school. Looks indeed more like an amulet of sorts, but is is porcelain at all? This would be difficult to produce...

mufan99