Flambe glazed Yixing ware

Started by carlyoung, Mar 12, 2017, 08:18:08

Previous topic - Next topic

carlyoung

Just bought this piece and would like to know a little about it , I have little knowledge of Monochromes and Yixing ware as I find them hard to date , I don't know if it is Chinese or Japanese and the black mark is strange .

Approx 4.5 inch tall , probably a censer .

Apologies for the pictures , I will post better ones , especially of the base if needed as i think the mark is upside down.

Regards

heavenguy

Any Yixing product is made with Zicha. They say that other zicha clay made outside of Yixing (even other parts of China) is not consider Zisha. So there cannot be any Japanese Yixing. So we rule out Yixing Japanese. I have seen some modern Chinese pieces like this on eBay. I don't know what the mark says but this piece looks so new. Only Thing I know is that 100% of the Yixing ware has this carved mark of the store and some times the artist. This one is stamped. So I don't know... Lol. Those types of ware are out of my range and probably most people.

Hmm

My understanding is that zisha or real zisha type clay can never be spun on the wheel I believe due to the density of the clay.  If it can be spun, it's a different type of clay.  That's one way to identify between e.g. a yixing teapot versus a chaozhou teapot, that has been spun on a wheel.

carlyoung

Thanks for the comments.

Yixing and monochrome ware's are so difficult for a beginner , and I go and but a mixture of the two.

peterp

>clay made outside of Yixing (even other parts of China) is not consider Zisha. So there cannot be any Japanese Yixing. So we rule out Yixing