Antique Vase with Dragons and blue eared pheasant

Started by itsdjsway, Mar 09, 2023, 11:19:47

Previous topic - Next topic

itsdjsway

Hello, I just joined the site I am a NEWBIE. I recently started doing some collecting and research on collecting oriental/asian vases and ceramic items. I have done "somewhat well" so far with items that are simple to identify but this lidded vase has had me searching over a week now to identify the makers mark. It is all white with what appears to be a "blue eared pheasant" that looks like a chicken and dragons with flames with a ball in the claws and the entire white is a blueish hue. The glaze has cracks as can be seen so I am assuming this must have some age. I am not interested in selling any items but i have always loved dragons since childhood and absolutely fell more in love more recently with older vases and such to collect and leave to my grandchildren when I pass. Could someone please tell me what the maker is with this marking? I would be extremely grateful for any info. on this and I will continue to collect and likely will find myself on this site often if I find it as interesting as it seems to me already. Thank yo MUCH!!!!   :>)   :>)[attach id=54249]orient.jpg[/attach]

peterp

The mark says "Qianlong", but Chinese marks cannot be used for dating, in general, because many are apocryphal. For the reasons please read the pertaining remarks in the "Marks" section of the main site. 
Pictures will be needed (with good resolution), showing the item from above, the side and bottom, to make an identification possible.

itsdjsway