Korean bowl (1)

Started by peterp, Apr 06, 2017, 11:43:04

Previous topic - Next topic

peterp

Probably Yi dynasty (Choseon) bowl. 19th century? 
Bottom is different from Chinese ones.

Addition:
Bottom color is not true. Image only added to illustrate different base. The image below shows the bowl before breakage, in the real colors.

Mat

I think that there is a chance that your bowl is much older, from Goryeo dynasty. As far as I know, this style of decoration was not made in 19th c, but revived only after the Korean war in mid 20th c. The Kintsugi repair seems to indicate that the bowl was in Japan, too, at some stage of it's history. That said, I am not an expert on old Korean celadon, but the modern pieces have a very different bottom, so I think it could be indeed an old example, or at least I would not rule out that possibility.
Regards,
Mat

Mat

Sorry, I was confused by your date, 19th c, but that was a typo, right? However I still think it could be Goryeo instead of Yi...

peterp

Thanks Mat, I do not know that much about Korean porcelain. Hope you are right.
It is difficult to get good reference on Korean ceramics. The nipple in the center of the bottom would be Yuan, if it were Chinese. But I have no way yet to date it accurately. The bottoms of Korean wares I have seen until now were often quite rough compared to Chinese ones. Thus it is just cautious age estimate.
I did the kintsugi repair myself. Unfortunately it was already broken when I got it. Nice looking sample, though.
Looking forward to your opinion when I post the other two items.

Stan

Hi Peter and Mat, this is from a 20th century Korean potter and these are the remnants of not so good wares that did not meet his standards, look closely at the bottoms.

Stan