Marked Qianlong, I'm assuming a newer copy...?

Started by tipton444, Feb 19, 2017, 12:17:59

Previous topic - Next topic

tipton444

Hello all,

This enormous bowl is in remarkable condition, obviously making it quite questionable.  I'm still new to the world of Chinese porcelain, but I know enough to know that it is marked with a Qianlong seal hallmark on the bottom.  I'm assuming this is a modern copy?  I know if it was a real bowl from the 1700s I'd be a very lucky man!  Can you guys tell me what the first basic characteristics you look for in antique Chinese porcelain are?  If so, when you do think this was made, as I know they have copied reign marks for hundreds of years?  Last 20 years? 50?  I'm a small but up and coming dealer and would love to learn, as I have been burned many times already by fakes.  I read that modern, or fake, pieces that have a red Qianlong seal mark can be a dead giveaway that it is fake, is that true?  Any help would be greatly appreciated!

i66.tinypic.com/1glvzd.jpg
i63.tinypic.com/2enqcko.jpg
i64.tinypic.com/57hc5.jpg

heavenguy

Your first clue should be that real Qianlong period marks (M&P) usually are blue and hand painted under glaze not stamped as this one. Of course there is variations to this rule but for the most part this is the case. Most of the times Qianlong stamped marks are Republic period to later. But this type of bowl I think is really recent. I recommend  buying reference books if you are really interested in getting into this large and confusing world of Chinese Porcelain. This forum eBook is really accessible and teaches you enough to start identifying pieces and not what to buy.

There is a lot of factors in identifying Chinese porcelain such as, decoration, colors, shape, foot rims, marks, etc... Most of the times it can have a mark but is out of period, meaning it was created to "Honor"
older pieces.

tipton444