Tripod Brush Washer

Started by kardinalisimo, Aug 18, 2014, 10:56:10

Previous topic - Next topic

kardinalisimo

The side of the bowl is inscribed with what looks like "OKINAWA".
So, I am thinking Japanese maybe. If so, any idea of the age and type of ware.
Too bad the raised decoration on the rim is quite damaged.
Thanks

Stan

Nice bowl, you are right it is Japanese, I have very little knowledge on these types of wares.

kardinalisimo

Hi Stan.
I do not know if I am on the right lead but it could be Sumida Gawa ware. The examples I am finding are color glazed on the inside but I did find few pieces of this kind of pottery signed Okinawa on the base.

Stan

That is a really good piece, I believe it is items like this that will have more collectors value when the Japanese porcelain or stone ware start to appreciate, a lot of Japanese porcelain is overlooked today, and you can get really good deals on it, it think that the Chinese porcelain is getting really hard to find the really good stuff is going for top dollar, I was bidding on a Chinese censor on ebay and it went through the roof, they are still bidding  the last time I looked it was $50,000.00 dollars and so you can see how Japanese porcelain is going to sky rocket, or is that wishful thinking?

Stan

I just looked at the Chinese censor that is on ebay and the high bid for now is $80,100.00 that is the highest price item that I have seen on ebay.

kardinalisimo

I saw that censer on Ebay. I am curious what Peter thinks about it.
I checked the one that sold on Christies as well. Aside being on green ground I've noticed that the key frets (swirls) on the neck have one more swirl than the one on Ebay. Also, on the Christies examples the swirls on the neck, the handle and the feet are all in pairs. On the Ebay piece, the swirls on the handles are connected.
How about the bottom of the feet, are not they too dirty?