Chinse famille rose porcelain figure of Buddha, anyway to id without maker mark?

Started by geob10, Apr 08, 2018, 23:25:15

Previous topic - Next topic

geob10

Hi,

the Buddha pictured has quite an unusual pattern (or one i haven't come across), unfortunately there is no makers mark, i would say that it dates between 1900 - 1940, am i in the right era? and is there a way to figure out the possible maker by this design?

any help greatly appreciated

George

geob10

thanks for your reply. why is the lack of a mark a good thing? i have one with the makers mark of 'wei hong tai' and was told that was very valuable. sorry if its a silly a question im new to this and there is a lot to learn!

regards

George

heavenguy

Not really sure if the lack of mark of mark is good in here. The clothe imprint on the bottom usually means that is from the republic period. Almost all the piece I have seen from the republic period have some type of mark or stamp.  The colors are way off for my personal opinion to be republic. Also the shape, he looks like if the Budai was getting skinny. Every piece I seen from him with similar characteristics, he is way chubbier, even 19th century ones.

The no mark on this type of pieces dates to the 1850s to late qing, but the bottom looks way different, kind of like orange and nothing like this. Another possibility for this type of statue to not have mark is for the piece to be more recent, and I'm taking after the 80's.

The problem I see is that this statue has is that it has a cote imprint from the republic, no markings like the ones in the 19th century (before 1880's), and the enamel coors from more recent productions.  But I'l wait for Peterp or Stan's opinion on this one. This are just my two cents.

peterp