Colored chinese vase

Started by Mathieu2400, Nov 30, 2016, 01:46:32

Previous topic - Next topic

Mathieu2400

Hello all,

I would like to have more informations about this item, which belongs to my parents.
They sent me some pictures which are not very clear. But maybe you can already tell me more about it.

So it seems to be a chinese vase. There is no mark on the bottom. From what they told me, the mark is located on the side.
In my beginner opinion, the shape looks not very conventional, so it may not be old?

Actually, it's a pair of vases. But the other one is partially broken (it has some different drawings on it). For the moment, they just sent me pics of this one.

Thank you in advance as usual! :)

Mathieu2400

More pictures,

carlyoung

It looks to have those classic ''people republic enamels'' I am no expert by any means but my opinion would be somewhere between the 1950's and the 1980's.

You are right about the shape , this along with the enamels and the base would say mid to late 20th century for me.

Stan

The mark is a Fuku mark, meaning good fortune or happiness.

peterp

Hi carlyoung, I do not think so. These look to me like mineral pigments, at least in the pictures.
I would like to see more closeups, especially faces, hairdo and clothing. They can be partial. Also a close picture of a part of the foot rim. The inside of the vase may provide hints too. Any blemishes should be shown clearly, as they help with evaluation.
Where is the mark located? It is a bit unusual to have this type of mark somewhere on the body.

Mathieu2400

Thanks all for the first answers.

My parents finally sent me some better pictures of the vases. They are clearer and bigger. I think they will help you for a better evaluation. ;)

I begin by the location of the mark, a view inside the vase, a better picture of the foot rim and of the mark.

Mathieu2400

Then, i have some pictures of the second broken vase now.