Help with Satsuma vase.

Started by heavenguy, Mar 31, 2016, 04:32:36

Previous topic - Next topic

heavenguy

Hello guys.

Okey there is an estate sale this weekend and saw this really nice satsuma vase. Only problem is that when i got there it was turned into a kerosene lamp.

When I ask the estate sale organizer about the vase she said it was not a vase, According to her they used to make this type of kerosene lamps back in the era. I really have my doubts about that. I never seen one myself or read in a book about satsuma kerosene lamps.

My first clue was that the handle where you raise the cotton burner has an American name. I'm not sure bout they didn't make this type of lamps back then. Although I'm not an expert on this Maybe they did imported kerosene lamp parts and make lamps out of them but I really doubt that.

My concerns are that if I buy this lamp that the vase will be damaged or they cut the vase to turn this into a lamp. The height  of the vase is really short for a vase like this so you guys think they cut it? any ideas of they made kerosene lamps out of Satsumas, I know they made lamps but that was much later and it was people who turned them into electrical lamps.

the price of the vase is really high., so if i buy i at least want part of my investment back and hope its worth it. that is the only pic i can provide. it looks satsuma in real person.

any help I will really appreciate it.

Stan

This is a vase that was turned into a lamp at a later time and the satsuma vase looks old, if the price is right I would buy it.

heavenguy

Hey Stan,

Thank you for the quick reply. I ended up buying the lamp at half price so the kick in the guts wasn't that hard. Now that is in my hands I have a chance to examine it and it's really a nice high quality piece.

It has a complete system HINKS BOLER #2 DUPLEX OIL BURNER, complete with base and oil comparment so that alone saves at least half the investment.